City of Bones Book Review

This is my 2nd time reading this book, since the first time around I never finished the series and Lady Midnight is coming out soon. This was not as good as I remembered it. I remembered AWESOMEAWESOMEAWESOME 5/5 stars WOOO!!! But, no.

When fifteen-year-old Clary Fray heads out to the Pandemonium Club in New York City, she hardly expects to witness a murder― much less a murder committed by three teenagers covered with strange tattoos and brandishing bizarre weapons. Then the body disappears into thin air. It’s hard to call the police when the murderers are invisible to everyone else and when there is nothing―not even a smear of blood―to show that a boy has died. Or was he a boy?

This is Clary’s first meeting with the Shadowhunters, warriors dedicated to ridding the earth of demons. It’s also her first encounter with Jace, a Shadowhunter who looks a little like an angel and acts a lot like a jerk. Within twenty-four hours Clary is pulled into Jace’s world with a vengeance, when her mother disappears and Clary herself is attacked by a demon. But why would demons be interested in ordinary mundanes like Clary and her mother? And how did Clary suddenly get the Sight? The Shadowhunters would like to know… 

Exotic and gritty, exhilarating and utterly gripping, Cassandra Clare’s ferociously entertaining fantasy takes readers on a wild ride that they will never want to end.

This book was definitely 4/5 stars. It had great action and stuff, but it was a little ruined since I read through the fourth book my first time reading this series two years ago. I already KNEW Jace was a Herondale. I already KNEW that Max gets killed by Sebastian. I already KNEW a bunch of stuff that happens later on. It was a little irritating and took away from my overall enjoyment of the book. I even changed my rating on Goodreads from 5 stars to 4 stars.

I do like the idea that there is a “hidden” world beneath our own that is filled with heroes and monsters and such. I mean, I wouldn’t actually want to live in that world. That would be scary and I’d probably get killed by vampires or some other Downworlder or demon. I would never be a Shadowhunter. I am in NO way coordinated and brave enough to slay demons all day long.

Valentine. I hate that tension filled part where an evil character is about to die and they are all like: I’m sorry. I’m actually possessed by a demon (QoS). It irritates me SO much. It’s like you suddenly regret hating the villain the whole time and for a fraction of a second you’re like: WAIT DONT DIE YOU CAN SORT IT OUT YOURE GOOD AT HEART I KNOW IT. Sorry I’m referencing CoG right now. I’ll talk about that in its own review. But anyway, no matter WHO your son/sons is/are, you SHOULDNT BE EXPERIMENTING ON THEM AND HURTING THEM AND EXPECT THEM TO LOVE YOU IN RETURN. THE LOGIC. And he’s one of the most frustrating characters ever. He’s always one step ahead, and that is just

hermione.gif

Jace+Clary=Jerry. I had that shocking realization a few days ago. That funny moment when you think they are siblings and you’re all like:

ariel.gif

HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA! But then you see Magnus and Alec=Malec, you’re like:

elfsmiling.gif

JERRY AND MALEC! What do you guys think of TMI and TIF and what is your favorite ship in them? Thanks for reading my blog and BYE!!!!

 

One thought on “City of Bones Book Review

Leave a Reply

