Lady Midnight Book Review!

IMG_5290.jpgOH MY GOD THIS WAS AMAZING!!!! SECOND FAVORITE CASSANDRA CLARE BOOK!!!!

The Shadowhunters of Los Angeles star in the first novel in Cassandra Clare’s newest series, The Dark Artifices, a sequel to the internationally bestselling Mortal Instruments series. Lady Midnight is a Shadowhunters novel.

It’s been five years since the events of City of Heavenly Fire that brought the Shadowhunters to the brink of oblivion. Emma Carstairs is no longer a child in mourning, but a young woman bent on discovering what killed her parents and avenging her losses.

Together with her parabatai Julian Blackthorn, Emma must learn to trust her head and her heart as she investigates a demonic plot that stretches across Los Angeles, from the Sunset Strip to the enchanted sea that pounds the beaches of Santa Monica. If only her heart didn’t lead her in treacherous directions…

Making things even more complicated, Julian’s brother Mark—who was captured by the faeries five years ago—has been returned as a bargaining chip. The faeries are desperate to find out who is murdering their kind—and they need the Shadowhunters’ help to do it. But time works differently in faerie, so Mark has barely aged and doesn’t recognize his family. Can he ever truly return to them? Will the faeries really allow it?

Glitz, glamours, and Shadowhunters abound in this heartrending opening to Cassandra Clare’s Dark Artifices series.

OH MY FREAKING GOD. THIS WAS PURE FANTASTICALNESSNESS. Okay, so a lot of things went down in this book. I loved this almost as much as The Infernal Devices. I loved all of the characters! Emma and Julian, just FANGIRLING SO HARD. I ship them so freaking much. I know, I know, it’s sort of cliché, the forbidden love, of course of the one boy she’s in love with is the one boy she can’t be in love with. Hey, it might be an overused trope, but it’s still interesting and fun. I tend to look past the tropes when I’m reading, unless it’s completely overrun with them, *cough* Red Queen *cough*. But it’s a great ship anyway! 🙂

excited-55adaed091f4c.gif

THAT TWIST THOUGH. WHAT THE ACTUAL HECK??!?!?!?!? How did I not predict that? Excuse me, I’ll be back when my mind’s done being blown.

giphy

Malcolm Fade killed everyone, I guess. Seriously, he killed so many people for ONE FREAKING PERSON. I guess he’s never heard that there are other fish in the sea. Come on, Emma’s parents turned out to die for literally no reason. We really waited to know how they died since CoHF, and then it turns out that it had no meaning at all. SERIOUSLY. ARE YOU KIDDING ME?

are-you-kidding-me-reaction-gif

So we have Kit. This guy. I mean, he had to have some use since he was mentioned in the prologue. Fact: Only relevant things are put within the prologue. The prologue felt more like Chapter 1, though. KIT IS THE FREAKING LOST HERONDALE FROM SHADOWHUNTER ACADEMY!! I didn’t see that coming, I was mostly wondering why he was there at all, doing nothing, serving no purpose, which he really didn’t. But at least we all know that more Herondales is (mostly) a good thing! Exhibit A: Will Herondale. Exhibit B: Jace Herondale. Those were two were some of the best Shadowhunters who ever lived. Baes <3.

tumblr_n7cy2vN3ra1smcbm7o1_250

Mark Blackthorn. It broke my heart when he didn’t recognize any of his family because they changed so much! Poor guy. I feel like he’s going to have some kind of larger part to play in the next two books since he was just kind of guy who constantly was weird and helped a bit.

I’m unsure of how the next books are going to progress because I feel like Lady Midnight could have just been a standalone, but I do love a good Shadowhunter Chronicles book. Oh my god, imagine if they made a bindup of all the books in the chronicles. Omg it would be like 3 feet tall.

Before this post ends, I would like to mention that I actually enjoyed episode 12 of the Shadowhunters TV show. I was quite angry that Tessa looked nothing like how Tessa would actually look in real life. I don’t know who that person was in the picture that said Theresa Gray, but she looked like a forty year old lady. If I’m not mistaken, Tessa stopped aging in her early twenties, not her forties! I did like the actual Malec part of the show, although only towards the end. Sometimes, even with Clace scenes, it seems extremely awkward. 

tumblr_m9zrh771Ov1r9mmdo

Thanks for reading this Lady Midnight review and little Shadowhunter TV show rant! I appreciate it!

 

5 thoughts on “Lady Midnight Book Review!

  1. I pretty much had the same reactions after finishing this book!!! The Emma and Julian ship is sailing strong!! This whole book gave me such a book hangover it was freaking insane!!! Gah. I need the next book pronto!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Great review! I loved this book so much. I tend to look past the tropes too, especially when Cassandra Clare is writing them haha. For some reason, she just makes overused tropes BETTER. I also could not look past them in Red Queen… I rolled me eyes so much whilst reading that book. I know exactly what you mean about Tessa in Shadowhunters, and why wasn’t Ragnor green?! I mean Magnus even called him ‘my little cabbage’ or something, which would make no sense to people who don’t know he’s supposed to have green skin in the books haha… But I was too busy fangirling over Malec to get too angry about it ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

