Me Before You by Jojo Moyes~I’m pleasantly SHOCKED

mebeforeyou.reviewpostheaderThis book was more fantastic than I could have imagined! I saw this all over Instagram, and so when I was at Barnes and Noble I picked it up! This book is up there with some of my favorites now! 

15507958.jpgLou Clark knows lots of things. She knows how many footsteps there are between the bus stop and home. She knows she likes working in The Buttered Bun tea shop and she knows she might not love her boyfriend Patrick.

What Lou doesn’t know is she’s about to lose her job or that knowing what’s coming is what keeps her sane.

Will Traynor knows his motorcycle accident took away his desire to live. He knows everything feels very small and rather joyless now and he knows exactly how he’s going to put a stop to that.

What Will doesn’t know is that Lou is about to burst into his world in a riot of colour. And neither of them knows they’re going to change the other for all time.

This book follows Louisa Clark, a 27-year-old woman who just lost her previous job, but has been known to flit from job to job in the past, and Will Traynor, a 35-year-old man who, before an accident that rendered him quadriplegic, was a world adventurer and traveler. Lou then accepts a job as Will’s new caretaker, and this book just goes through Lou and Will’s story together. I really loved the relationship between Louisa and Will, even though there were MANY ups and downs throughout the story. In no way were they perfect, but this book felt like it was just that. Perfect. It was a nice, easy read that was just so enjoyable and somehow both heart-breaking and heart-warming. This was most definitely a five-star read. Check it out!

Warning: SPOILER SECTION APPROACHING

Okay, this was the most depressing prologue EVER. Even the Ed-Sheeran-esque trailer showed that. Poor Will. Can you imagine, just walking across the street, carefree, just trying to hail a cab, and then BAM! You’re hit by a car/motorcycle/truck/train/bunny. Sorry, this isn’t a laughing matter. But I don’t do well in sad situations, so I use humor to lighten the mood (okay, this is only with books, I’m a quiet-ish person in front of a lot of people in real life, emphasis on real life). I’m the funniest person I know within my own mind, because I mostly don’t like normal, not-nerdy people being like Whhaaaaaa when I make random fangirly fandom references. Ah, the day when someone in the real world knows what I’m talking about will be a very happy day. Because most of the time I’m just like:

download (1).jpeg

and everyone else be like:

Is it too much to ask for everyone to have read my favorite books and want to discuss them?!?!?! Okay, I’m getting off topic. I would’ve liked this book better if PATRICK WASN’T IN IT. He bothered me SO MUCH. He trains all the time, and he really is never kind to Lou. He never. Freaking. Goes. Away. Ever.

You can’t sit with us, Patrick. The table for guys like you is over there.

WILLLLLLLLLL. We all knew the end was coming, but it was still heartbreaking. At least we didn’t have to actually see it happening. I’m not a book crier, but I seriously thought I might’ve started crying, but as per usual, I did not.

There’s my review of Me Before You by Jojo Moyes, thanks for reading. My insta: thebookllama, my Goodreads: H-Dawg Shlippertown. And I must talk about Hamilton before I finish this post. Farewell to King George the III the second, Jonathan Groff(sauce). I’m sure he was an amazing King George the III. BYEEEEEE! ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤

 

6 thoughts on “Me Before You by Jojo Moyes~I’m pleasantly SHOCKED

  1. Patrick should have just ran off and gotten lost in one of his marathons. It was a tiny bit obvious to all but Will and Lou that they were meant to be lol, thats the beauty of love I guess! Great review. I had a meme reaction filled post to this book too. There’s so much of emotion you want to get across. Do you think if all the readers held up signs saying you are meant for each other they’d realise…? Sorry I’m so crazed up with the ending..

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Great review! I was also really surprised that I liked the book, as it generally isn’t something I’d like, but I saw the trailer and thought it looked cute, so wanted to read the book and enjoyed it. Now I’m making my book club read it this month! That is too funny what you said about Patrick. You might want to read the sequel, After You, because there is a really funny Patrick scene in it.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

