After You by Jojo Moyes~Is less really more?

after.you.bookreview(1).jpgMe Before You was phenomenal, but, even though this book was very good, it was the sequel that didn’t need to exist. 

A NOTE: This entire review contains spoilers not only for this book, but for Me Before You. Continue at the risk of spoilers if you haven’t completed this duology. If you have completed Me Before You, I will warn you when I start spoiling After You.

25041504.jpg“You’re going to feel uncomfortable in your new world for a bit. But I hope you feel a bit exhilarated too. Live boldly. Push yourself. Don’t settle. Just live well. Just live. Love, Will.”

How do you move on after losing the person you loved? How do you build a life worth living?

Louisa Clark is no longer just an ordinary girl living an ordinary life. After the transformative six months spent with Will Traynor, she is struggling without him. When an extraordinary accident forces Lou to return home to her family, she can’t help but feel she’s right back where she started.

Her body heals, but Lou herself knows that she needs to be kick-started back to life. Which is how she ends up in a church basement with the members of the Moving On support group, who share insights, laughter, frustrations, and terrible cookies. They will also lead her to the strong, capable Sam Fielding—the paramedic, whose business is life and death, and the one man who might be able to understand her. Then a figure from Will’s past appears and hijacks all her plans, propelling her into a very different future. . . .

For Lou Clark, life after Will Traynor means learning to fall in love again, with all the risks that brings. But here Jojo Moyes gives us two families, as real as our own, whose joys and sorrows will touch you deeply, and where both changes and surprises await.

This book follows Lou Clarke after Will Traynor’s assisted suicide 😰. She’s now working a job that just keeps going downhill at an airport bar. After falling off her roof, her family is worried about her mental health (because why on Earth would she even be on her roof?), and she’s having trouble moving on after Will. Then she meets Sam Fielding, a paramedic, (who knew being a paramedic was so dangerous? Well probably everyone except me because I never really thought about it) who might be the person to help her move on.

I did love this book, though considerably less than Me Before You, on account of, well, NO WILL FREAKING TRAYNOR. It truly didn’t have to exist, but I suppose more books is always a good thing. (Unless you strongly think that less is more, but it depends what you’re talking about). I would have been happy with only Me Before You, and it just felt like  a standalone.

AFTER YOU SPOILERS

IMG_5472

You know what I liked most about this book? The lack of Patrick.

Oh, but to replace Patrick, we get freaking RICHARD.

That guy. One of the best scenes in this book is when Lou stands up to him and just tells him what an awful person he’s been to her and everyone else. JUST FIND A NEW JOB RICHARD.

Sam! HOW DOES HE MANAGE TO GET SHOT?!?!?! He’s the light in Louisa’s darkness!

That moment when he’s not Jake’s dad was hilarious! Well, there isn’t really much evidence to prove otherwise, except that Sam seems much more put-together than how Jake’s real dad is described. But really, it was sort of a weird thing to assume, because wouldn’t most people say to him upon first meeting him, “Oh, so are you Jake’s dad?” because that’s a sensible question to ask!

Lily. WILL HAD A DAUGHTER?!?!?!?! That was just. No. Ugh. I didn’t like Lily. She messed up her own life and she didn’t even try telling anyone because she was being threatened. THAT IS WHY YOU TELL PEOPLE THINGS LILY!! If only Will knew about her… He might’ve lived for her! Really. This was just a strange turn to the story.

I give this book 4.5/5 stars, and here’s its Goodreads link. Oh! Oh! And I’m so excited because I got my Hamiltome today and it’s SO BEAUTIFUL! I may or may not have flipped through it my first time looking for the pages on Jonathan Groff. Thanks for reading! My Instagram is @thebookllama, and my Goodreads is thebookllama_hannah. Bye!

9 thoughts on “After You by Jojo Moyes~Is less really more?

  1. Great review! I loved Me Before You, but I’m really conflicted about reading this one. I’m leaning towards just pretending Me Before You is a standalone haha. I think if I read this one, I’ll need to put some time between it and reading the first one. (P.S. I think I recall reading an interview where Moyes said she wrote this one because there were so many fans asking what happened to Lou after the first book. It wasn’t something she was planning on writing.)

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Hmm, I have seen tons of reviews for Me Before You in the blogosphere recently, and of course, the movie trailer has been getting around. I had no idea there was already a sequel! Good to see that the series is still going strong.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. “More” isn’t necessarily better… I think if the author really felt there was only one book to this story, she shouldn’t have given in to the pressure…. Probably in the long run she’d be more respected for that, than pushing out a mediocre sequel that will ruin it for a lot of people.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

