The Upside of Unrequited~Could it BE any more fluffy?

LOVELOVELOVE (except I’m a feminist)

Image result for the upside of unrequitedTitle: The Upside of Unrequited

Author: Becky Albertalli

Publisher: Balzer + Bray/Harperteen

Genre: Realistic Fiction/Romance

Goodreads Description:

Seventeen-year-old Molly Peskin-Suso knows all about unrequited love. No matter how many times her twin sister, Cassie, tells her to woman up, Molly can’t stomach the idea of rejection. So she’s careful. Fat girls always have to be careful.

Then a cute new girl enters Cassie’s orbit, and for the first time ever, Molly’s cynical twin is a lovesick mess. Meanwhile, Molly’s totally not dying of loneliness—except for the part where she is. Luckily, Cassie’s new girlfriend comes with a cute hipster-boy sidekick. If Molly can win him over, she’ll get her first kiss and she’ll get her twin back.

There’s only one problem: Molly’s coworker, Reid. He’s a chubby Tolkien superfan with a season pass to the Ren Faire, and there’s absolutely no way Molly could fall for him.

Right?

I’ve been highly anticipating this book for sooooooo long, and I actually thought it was pretty good. It was filled with fluff, and I loved the heck out of that. BECKY ALBERTALLI WITH THE FREAKING AWESOME PARENTS I MEAN. First in Simon vs., and NOW. It was so great to see a same-sex couple, AND they were the kindest, most understanding ladies ever.Image result for you're greatMolly! Mollymollymollyyyyy needs to gain some SUPER FEMINIST SUPERPOWERS (and fast!). She places her entire self-worth on men and how she looks. At some points, she seemed okay with herself, but the feminist inside me got mad when she felt beautiful only AFTER she had a boyfriend. It’s fine, I guess, to embrace yourself, but that’s something you should always carry with you. It shouldn’t be placed in your hand by a guy *shudders*.

“I can’t seem to shake this perpetual awareness of being Molly.”

I think it’s really, really good that there was so much diversity in this book, but it was slightly overshadowed by the weird need Molly has to have a boyfriend. I mean, it’s literally her thing. She keeps track of her crushes, and to me, that’s really, really creepy. She cannot let go of anything, and she overthinks every male encounter she has. I mean, everyone has their thing, but I think she could have a healthier obsession if she focused on, say, her crafting.IMG_1195But overall, I liked it! If you liked Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda, then this is kind of a less-amazing version that you’ll probably like too.


Thanks for reading! Have you read The Upside of Unrequited? I’d love to hear your thoughts! Remember, here’s my Instagram, facebook, and Goodreads.

6 thoughts on “The Upside of Unrequited~Could it BE any more fluffy?

  1. I totally agree with the part about molly only loving herself after a guy… I mean i was like that. But sometimes your self steam is so low you need someone to tell you you are beautiful to actually start to see it yourself. Like for me, it was not a guy but my friends. They helped a lot to finally accept my “flaws”

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I was expecting release of this book for so long, but from all the recent reviews my interest is dwindling. I just cannot stand story in which girl’s self-worth is gained because of a guy, I cannot stand story in which girl only longs to have a boyfriend, and there isn’t much else to her but her crushes…. Eh… I doesn’t look like a book for me afterall…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I was anticipating it for so long, as well, and I was disappointed because I loved Simon Vs. so much. I didn’t really know what to expect from it, but somehow I set my expectations really high! But even though it was written well, it lacked that feminist element that I think is really important, especially in times like these. The main character thinks nothing of herself, but then realizes that she’s “beautiful” only after she’s gotten her first kiss and first boyfriend. I couldn’t really get in sync with a character who can’t believe in themselves, and then when they do, it’s because their entire self-worth is based on a guy. I do think, however, it does a good job of expressing diversity, but even something as great as diversity can’t save a book from misguided morals.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. It’s great that the book is diverse and it’s doing a good job of presenting different types of characters. But when I think about it – we starting to prize books because of their diversity, and I’ve seen so many book reviews (written similar one myself) that say the story was weak or boring, but hey, on the plus side it had diverse set of characters. Diverse strong characters should be a norm, not something that saves a book from being absolutely awful. I want books with great story and great diverse characters. And I don’t want to feel like I have to applaud author for writing a book with diverse characters that has weak storyline. Eh, it’s complicated topic, and I’m not doing its complexity justice in this comment.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

